First Officers of the Newly Incorporated Department Elected

The Washington Times newspaper reports the “the volunteer fire department of Capitol Heights has elected the following officers for the ensuing year: Captain – George A. Adams, 1st Lieutenant – W. Pierce, 2nd Lieutenant – George Litz, 3rd Lieutenant – Arthur Boyington, 4th Lieutenant – Samuel Polo, Secretary – G.H. Lambert, Financial Secretary and Treasurer – William H. McGinnis, Trustee – Lyman J. Laughton and Property Clerk – Dennis P. Quill”. It should be noted that these members were the first elected officers of the department and that George Adams was the ranking head of the department. This position is equal to Chief today.